Back to All Events

COW #1 Pauline Oliveros

  • Mengi Óðinsgata Reykjavík, 101 Iceland (map)

COW concert series consists of three concerts that will take place in Mengi in Fall 2017. The concerts include music by American composers John Cage, Pauline Oliveros and Christian Wolff who all are pioneers within experimental music and have generated new ways of approaches and performance practices within western music. 

December 6 will be dedicated to the music of John Cage, October 11 to Christian Wolff and September 13 is dedicated to Pauline Oliveros.

Composer, performer, thinker and pioneer Pauline Oliveros (1932-2016) was amongst the first composers of electronic music and also the originator of a practice known as Deep Listening. The first piece on the program is her last composition were pitch remained tightly notated. The compositions that follow are centred on Deep Listening. In between excerpts from her electronic music will be played, presented by Erik DeLuca.

Trio for flute, piano and page turner (1961)
Berglind Tómasdóttir, Lilja María Ásmundsdóttir, Pétur Eggertsson

The Tuning Meditation (1971)
Allir flytja // Performed by everyone present

Electronic Music #1
Mnemonics (1964)

Triskaidekaphonia (Anthology of Text Scores, 2012)
Rules for Improvisation
Eiríkur Orri Ólafsson, Guðbjörg Hlín Guðmundsdóttir

Electronic Music #2
Big Mother is Watching You (1965)

Breaking Boundaries (1996)
Erik DeLuca, Berglind Tómasdóttir, Einar Torfi Einarsson, Lilja María Ásmundsdóttir

Electronic Music #3
A Little Noise In The System (1967)

The Well and the Gentle (1982-1983)
The entire group of performers

Performers September 13:
Berglind Tómasdóttir, Guðbjörg Hlín Guðmundsdóttir, Einar Torfi Einarsson, Eiríkur Orri Ólafsson, Elísabet Indra Ragnarsdóttir, Erik DeLuca, Lilja María Ásmundsdóttir, Pétur Eggertsson.

Curator of COW Concert Series: Berglind Tómasdóttir
COW Concert Series is supported by the Icelandic Music Fund.

Earlier Event: August 21
Curated Film Evening and Deep Listening
Later Event: September 24